Dvořák Cello Concerto

Released 2008

Nina Kotova, cello

Philharmonia Orchestra

Andrew Litton

Use the links below to listen:

Amazon  |    Spotify

Serenade for winds in D minor, Op. 44 In spite of his belief that the cello was best heard in the context of chamber music, Antonín Dvořák’s concerto for the instrument is acknowledged as one of the finest in the repertoire. Written in 1895, towards the end of Dvořák’s years in America, the work is remarkable for it’s symphonic quality; while the cello is undoubtedly the principle protagonist, it enjoys a more complex relationship with the orchestra than that of mere soloist and accompaniment.

Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in B Minor, Op 104

1. I Allegro
2. II Adagio ma non troppo
3. III Finale, Allegro moderato

Serenade for Winds in D minor, Op. 44

4. I Moderato
5. II Tempo di minuetto
6. III Andante con moto
7. IV Moderato, quasi tempo di marcia