Released 2017

Nina Kotova, cello

Vladimir Fedoseyev, conductor

Tchaikovsky Symphony Orchestra

Use the links below to listen:

Known for his warm, expansive melodies and profound expressions of emotion, Russian composer Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) pursued composition studies at the newly opened St. Petersburg Conservatory in 1862. He studied music theory and composition with the Russian composer and piano virtuoso Anton Rubinstein, who was the founder of the conservatory. Upon graduating in 1865, Tchaikovsky immediately accepted a position as professor of music theory at the Moscow Conservatory, which had just been opened by Nicolai Rubinstein, Anton’s younger brother.

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky:

Pezzo capriccioso, Op. 62 (6:24)

Variations on a Rococo Theme, Op. 33 (18:54)

Moderato assai quasi Andante—Thema: Moderato semplice (2:46)

Variation I: Tempo della Thema (0.53)

Variation II: Tempo della Thema (1:25)

Variation III: Andante sostenuto (3:52)

Variation IV: Andante grazioso (1:51)

Variation V: Allegro moderato (3:18)

Variation VI: Andante (2:42)

Variation VII e Coda: Allegro vivo (2:04)

Serenade for Strings, Op. 48 (34:08)

Pezzo in forma di sonatina: Andante non troppo—Allegro moderato (10:44)

Valse: Moderato—Tempo di valse (4:51)

Élégie: Larghetto elegiaco (10:27)

Finale (Tema russo): Andante—Allegro con spirito (8:06)